So What do We have to lose? Part 2 of 2

(Continued from yesterday)
As you know if you’ve read previous posts I am not happy with the PC (USA) right now. My church has embarked on a course of action that cannot end well. This has saddened me, but also galvanized me to speak out in a way I never have before. I am much more comfortable sitting on the pew telling myself that someone with more knowledge than I will come forward and fix all that is broken. I can’t do that anymore. I am moving way out of my comfort zone in sharing my thoughts and convictions with you and I know not everyone agrees with what I have said and what I will say. It is not my intention to stir up controversy, but with God’s help to be ready with answers when called upon to account for my position. I am willing to enter into productive conversation on the topic that helps me explore my positions and helps you explore yours.

Onward.

The General Assembly of the PC (USA) would ask us how staying affiliated with them hurts our mission and ministry. The PC (USA) left us choosing instead to participate with the culture instead of offering the culture a better choice. This hampers our mission by distorting our message! It forces us to be associated with ideas and politics that are not in line with Biblical teaching. It makes the world look at us and identify us with questionable endorsements – and divestments.

I have some better questions.

Does the PC (USA) project an image to the world that makes us proud of its recent and not so recent decisions? Does it represent me (and many others) or my views on the world, the culture, politics and now finally and most glaring of all – in living out my faith? Is this an organization that we would want to welcome others to join?

Consider parents who want to find a church home in which to raise their children. Will they be drawn to a church that gives so much attention to political and cultural themes instead of Scriptural integrity? Or will they be drawn to a family of believers more concerned with teaching and maintaining sound Biblical principles if and when that stand is in opposition to the world around them? Would people with or without children be drawn to a family of believers that loves and supports each other and stands ready even with little notice to respond to a crisis?

I don’t want to be different for the sake of being different, but my friends we are called by God to be different! The debt of love we owe to God for His undying unconditional love and the sacrifice of His only Son for us can never be repaid no matter how good we try to be. The least we can do is to live out our redeemed lives in love
and obedience to Him! That may be the least we can do, but it is also enough. With God’s help, we can be the light that shines into the dark world around us and leads others through the deceptions of this world into the light and love of God.

That kind of witness is what we have to lose.

What are you looking for?

4 thoughts on “So What do We have to lose? Part 2 of 2

  1. Martha Holder

    You ask much better questions! No, I cannot sacrifice my integrity; that is who I am. Are we acting as God’s hands and feet if we are led by society and its politics? We are called to be different as we do God’s work, not to be different just for the sake of being different or to cause discord. Your wisdom and eloquence always inspire your readers!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. mjabate

    Hi Anita,

    I enjoyed both of your posts pertaining to the PC(USA). If there is any encouragement that I can offer you, then it would be to continue shining the light of the word (the gospel) into your sphere of influence. Truth be told, it doesn’t sound like the tide will turn anytime soon. It could be that the Lord has placed you as an elder in order to warn your fellow colleagues about the path that they’re walking.

    The reason that I say this has to do with the following verse from the New Testament: “You adulterous people! Do you not know that friendship with the world is enmity with God? Therefore whoever wishes to be a friend of the world makes himself an enemy of God” (James 4:4, ESV). This might be difficult to tell your colleagues, but I don’t see anyway around that passage in James.

    Another passage to study and chew over is Ezekiel 3:17-21. The Lord directed me by his Spirit to this scripture text two years ago. The church that I had been attending began drifting away from sound doctrine. I felt compelled by the Lord to warn the leaders about the grave, spiritual condition of themselves and this church as a result of teaching error. Needless to say, I left the church as I failed to see the board of elders and deacons make a solid commitment to God and his word. It’s not easy to stand firm for God and his word, but it’s necessary for his sake and for your conscience, too.

    Sincerely,

    Matthew

    P.S.: I will be praying for God to give you graceful speech, boldness of spirit, and his strength to speak and stand for our Lord and his word.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Anita Errickson Post author

      Thank you Matthew for your insightful comments. I agree the James reference sounds a very clear warning. The Ezekiel passage does require some chewing and I will continue to work on that one and others. I agree that we must stand firm for God and His Word, it just makes me sad that we have to do so. It seems like such a “no-brainer” to me. Spending time in debate when the warning has not been heeded is taking time away from mission and ministry. But the warning must be clearly sounded and I appreciate your encouragement and your experience in this matter. I would also like to thank you for your prayers around all of this. Graceful speech, boldness and strength are indeed things we all need. There is another post bursting to get out of my head and my heart about this issue and somehow I think it may not be the last such post. God bless you and keep you wherever He plants you.
      Anita

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

